The Spectacular Now

By Amari D. Pollard

Do you ever ask yourself what it means to live in the moment? I bet if you went around asking people that question, most of them wouldn’t know the answer. I’m not even sure I know what it means to live in the now.

In society today I wonder if it’s even possible to fully live in the present. It seems as though we’re too busy documenting our lives on social media or texting each other or losing ourselves in thoughts of tomorrow to even focus on what’s happening in front of us. Besides, when you actually think about it, it’s quite interesting how we tell ourselves to live for today when today’s importance has diminished because we assume there will always be a tomorrow, and the next day and the next day.

From a young age we are taught to always look towards the future [although the future isn’t something that is guaranteed], which isn’t a bad thing, but it can be when so often today gets lost in tomorrow. We forget how to enjoy the time we have now, to appreciate the great moments that are happening.

Growing up, I was always that little kid who couldn’t wait to get older, because being young was awful in my mind. I couldn’t hang out with my older sister and her friends, it felt like my parents knew my every move, and I couldn’t be as independent as I wanted to be because of my age. Also, as a result of rushing and complaining through my adolescence, I never completely relished in how great it actually was.

Isn’t that how it always goes, though? You never realize how good something was until it’s gone. And I can’t rewind time and live out my childhood again, but I can learn how to properly value the stage of life I’m in now.

Sai Baba of Shirdi, a spiritual master, once said, “What matters is to live in the present, live now, for every moment is now. It is your thoughts and acts of the moment that create your future. The outline of your future path already exists, for you created its pattern by your past.”

I think the problem we have as a society is fear. A fear that if we settle our minds for a second and stop thinking about what is to come, then that means we’re somehow behind in life. But here’s the thing—life isn’t a race. No one is standing behind you with a stopwatch tracking your time. Life already happens so quickly, so why try to hurry through it.

I don’t know what is in the future [and that’s what makes life so exciting because everyday is like unwrapping a gift], but I do know what is now. Now I’m writing this as I sit in my dorm room on a quiet Sunday morning, and I’m content. Now I am a sophomore in college trying to fully understand myself while gaining an education.  Now isn’t such a bad time to live, and for now I’m good, so I think I’ll stay here.

Picture Courtesy of http://www.2witches1blog.blogspot.com

http://thedolphinlmc.com/opinion/2014/11/20/through-my-spectacles-the-spectacular-now/#sthash.l8OmSpnZ.dpuf

One Comment Add yours

  1. Pamela Kinane says:

    Very inspiring article. You have challenged me to try to live in the now. So much is happening in the now. Life can be crazy. Therefore, we all need to take a step back and just BREATHE. You are right when you say tomorrow is not a guarantee. Thank you for your inspiring words. You have true talent my dear😘

Leave a Reply

