The Selfie Crisis

Originally I thought it was a cute idea, you know, taking a picture of yourself with an incredible landscape behind you to compliment your ecstatic smile. But then, people’s faces kept popping up on my Instagram feed—every five seconds, the same persons’ face on my homepage at a different angle. One time is fine, two times I’ll let it slide, but the minute your face appears three times on my feed in one day, you’re butt is getting defriended.

It’s gotten to the point where people are getting plastic surgery to look good in selfies. Does anyone else see the problem in that or is it just me?

Everywhere you go today, people seem to be more focused on how they look in a selfie rather than staying in the moment and enjoying their surroundings and their company. We’re too busy documenting our lives to actually live them. People don’t put things on Instagram or Twitter or Facebook because they want to keep a personal photo album of their lives, it’s so they can get comments and people can see just how awesome their lives are compared to everyone else’s.

We live in a vain society. Obsessed with appearances and money and trivial things that don’t even matter, but we’re too absorbed in ourselves to see that. There is something terribly wrong when people start to base their beauty and importance off of the amount of likes they receive on a selfie.

I look at myself every day in the mirror. I know what I look like. My parents look at my face almost every day. They know what I look like. Although I may not see my friends all the time, a few months (hopefully) won’t erase my face from their memories. They know what I look like. No one needs to see my face on social media sites a bunch of times a day, or even a week—and I wouldn’t want them to.

So the next time you go to take a selfie, look around. Take the time to soak in your environment, see if you’re paying enough attention to that or too busy deciding which filter will look best with your face. I’m not saying stop taking selfies altogether, but know when enough is enough. Try taking a picture of the whole Empire State Building in front of you rather than a picture of your face with a piece of the building behind you next time.

Picture courtesy of www.huffingtonpost.com

Leave a Reply

