Who Says Your Dreams Aren’t Good Enough?

By Amari D. Pollard

At what age do we decide that we’re not good enough to successfully achieve our dreams? Why is it that, when we were little, we were told we could be anything we desired, and now those dreams seem so unrealistic?

From a young age, we have been programmed to think that you can’t make a decent living in this world unless you go into healthcare, engineering or business management, or unless you possess a rare and phenomenal talent, or you were lucky enough to be born into a rich family that has an equally lucrative business. So the conundrum is: what happens to the rest of us that are not or will not fall into those categories?

According to the many people I know, the rest of us will be stuck spending our lives struggling in an industry that we had no business entering in the first place. I’ve been told numerous amounts of times to get a job that will support me financially… and then after that, I can focus on the things that make me happy, on the dreams that I’ll already have forgotten about.

They always say, “It’s never too late to follow your dreams.” But the thing is, there’s no point of having a dream if you’re not willing to make it a reality.

The fear of failing is the only thing that stops us from attaining that ultimate goal. Family and friends may think they’re helping when they tell you to do “the smart thing” and get that engineering degree, but really they’re only helping to increase the amount of cowards in the world. You’re destined to fail even before you’ve tried.

There’s no point in waiting until you’re 40 to chase your dreams when now is the perfect time to start that cycle of trial and error in pursuit of success.

Since entering college, this issue has been a cloud over my usually optimistic sunny days, casting a dark shadow that I can’t seem to escape. I’ve been struggling, trying to separate my dream future from the future my parents dream of for me. And I know this issue plagues many students in college all over the world.

I suspect that from the age of four, I was convinced I would grow up to be a dentist like my parents. It just made so much sense that I never thought to question whether that path was what I wanted or what I thought I should want. It took me until a year or so ago to realize I hate teeth and that I would be an awful dentist.

When I told my parents I wanted to be a writer, they were really quick to tell me the potential negative outcomes of my decision. And even though their opinions haven’t changed, I have. I’ve decided to stop listening to them and live my life how I envision it.

I may never become a successful writer, but at least I will be able to say I was brave enough to go after what I wanted.

In order to accomplish anything in life, there is a certain amount of dreaming that is required. Dreaming is the foundation for every action; so continue to strive for that desirable future regardless of what the haters say. And remember the wise words of Eleanor Roosevelt, “The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.”

Picture courtesy of http://www.cityhyd.info

http://www.thedolphinlmc.com/opinion/2013/09/26/who-says-your-dreams-arent-good-enough/#sthash.v4sD2kOV.dpuf

Leave a Reply

